Looking Ahead

We have now come to the final week of my course, COM 6630 – Strategic Communication & Emerging Media.  And like all good things, it must come to an end.  It is hard to believe that nine weeks have already passed, but I have enjoyed reading and blogging about the various topics covered in this course.  By far my favorite topics covered were mobile communication and social media.  Media has changed so much so that not only should we consider the idea to push information out “mobile first,” but pushing it out to “social media first.”  I have seen (and read) more news articles because they were pushed out to social media before they were widely published either on their site or through a mobile app notification system.  To me newspapers are still “king,” and the industry is learning to adapt with the changing times.

I am still amazed at how far we have progressed technologically.  After viewing a string of commercials from an AT&T ad campaign from 1993-1994, it is a little scary to see how much of what was predicted in their commercials is reality today–20 years down the road.  We now have video conferencing from computers and portable devices, phones on our wrists (smart watch), RFIDs that can scan an entire set of items at the same time, and self checkout machines.  If AT&T were to recreate this campaign “You Will” today, I wonder what types of technology they would include that would predict what is to come in our future.  We have already reached the stage where computers on fit on eye glasses or doors can be unlocked with the wave of a card.  I have embedded this video below and leave you with one question to ponder while viewing: where do you think we are headed next?


I have enjoyed this exercise of actively blogging, but I am not sure how often I will continue to post.  I hope all that have visited my blog over the past nine weeks have enjoyed reading about my thoughts on topics related to the field of strategic communication and emerging media.  I have no idea where we are headed, but I am very glad I have a front row seat to watch what the future has in store.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

